Jump to content
Twins Daily
  • Create Account

Rocco getting animated in post game presser warning, vulgar language


cHawk
 Share

Community Leader

Today, the Blue Jays got a favorable overturned call in their game against the Twins at Target Field that, in the end, gave them their winning run.

Twins’ manager Rocco Baldelli was not a happy camper after the call was overturned. Skip to the 1:40 mark to see the segment where Rocco shares his thoughts on what happened.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Recommended Posts

16 minutes ago, Richie the Rally Goat said:

I’d be pretty upset too, but it’s rather out of character for Rocco to get that heated.

I wonder how that plays in the clubhouse and office?

Couldn’t play any better for me as a fan anyway. If that is my coach too I am more in his corner than ever knowing that he has some fight in him for his team and isn’t just a wet blanket. 

Do we think Gardy would have just rolled over on a call like that? Do you think any manager would? To me, I think he almost HAD to react that way, and I am glad he did. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member

It's so out of character for him to go off like he did. Both on the field when the play happened, and with his comments. We've NEVER seen him do anything even remotely like that since he got the job. It's so out there...it's hard for me to process. I do like that he finally showed some fire in his belly. I like the emotion and anger. I think we need to see more of that from him. Whether or not there was an ulterior motive to get the team fired up, or if it was his honest anger about the play...who knows. No doubt the call reversal was total B.S. I'm sure he'll get fined and probably a small suspension for the comments. We'll see if the whole thing lights a fire under the team. I sure hope so. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I recorded the Blue Jays TV play by play and they also said it was not going to be overturned because Sanchez had to play the ball. Then in an interview with Whit Merrifield, he said that he slid into Sanchez on purpose to get the interference call. He said he could have slid around him but he would have been out so he tried to get the interference call.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member
6 hours ago, mrtwinsfan said:

I recorded the Blue Jays TV play by play and they also said it was not going to be overturned because Sanchez had to play the ball. Then in an interview with Whit Merrifield, he said that he slid into Sanchez on purpose to get the interference call. He said he could have slid around him but he would have been out so he tried to get the interference call.

This is evidence that the replay officials got played and should be embarrassed. Who is it that should be suspended? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For me the bottom line is this. Before Merrifield made contact with Sanchez, he had possession of the ball. Even if it was a split second before, he had the ball. There is no block if he has the ball, that’s is the rule! So no matter where Sanchez was since he had the ball, he has a right to the baseline. These same umpires in NY made another similar call in the Orioles Pirates game. They got that one wrong too. The catcher caught the ball before the runner made contact. He has to be called out. These two particular umps in NY need to be fired. 
 

Baseball is a game of bang bang plays, in both cases the catchers had the ball before contact is made, a split second before maybe, but before is before. It would help if umpires actually understood the rules.
 

There is an easy fix for this. Make the catcher blocking the plate rule non reviewable and leave it up to the umps on the field.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Community Moderator
7 minutes ago, LVTwinsfan said:

There is an easy fix for this. Make the catcher blocking the plate rule non reviewable and leave it up to the umps on the field.

The easy fix is to change the rule, so we don't have umps on the field OR off trying to interpret a poorly written bad idea and make a pure judgement call instead of easily defined, incontrovertable safe or out like it was for a century and a half, and still should be. Demand the runner slide, and be done with it.

There are collisions at 2nd base all the time. Infielders block 2nd and 3rd with their leg. All the time. Yet we don't have some poorly written rules regulating that. For good reason.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member

I've looked at this replay several times.  Sanchez had a ball before Merrifield made contact.  Real terrible call.  Twins got robbed.

i would think Baldelli would be fined for vulgar comments and criticism against the umpires.  If he get fined by Manfred, I would be willing to donate money.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Replays are supposed to be used to overturn calls on the field that are clearly wrong.

That principle was egregiously violated here.

There is a lot of gray in the world. But not here. Rocco is 100% right and NY is 100% wrong. I am sure that his passion on this point plays just fine in the clubhouse.   

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So given what MLB said about this their quibble appears to be that Sanchez set up in foul territory without the ball. Even though by the time the runner got to the plate he left a very clear lane for the runner until he had the ball where he then came back over the plate. 

So unless the rule reads a catcher cannot setup in foul territory at all with a runner on third I guess I don't get their logic.  The replay clearly shows he left a lane at the end when he caught the ball and then when he had the ball he stayed in front of the plate.  The runner made no effort to move the side but directly initiated contact and that is how they want to call it?  They are essentially negating the rule they put in place to protect the players.  Even the runner acknowledges he TRIED to initiate contact since he knew he was out to try and get the call.  New York messed this up.  Rocco is right this was just an embarrassment on a lot of levels.  They should have let the call stand like they have on 99.9 percent of these this year.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member
1 hour ago, Dman said:

So given what MLB said about this their quibble appears to be that Sanchez set up in foul territory without the ball. Even though by the time the runner got to the plate he left a very clear lane for the runner until he had the ball where he then came back over the plate. 

So unless the rule reads a catcher cannot setup in foul territory at all with a runner on third I guess I don't get their logic.  The replay clearly shows he left a lane at the end when he caught the ball and then when he had the ball he stayed in front of the plate.  The runner made no effort to move the side but directly initiated contact and that is how they want to call it?  They are essentially negating the rule they put in place to protect the players.  Even the runner acknowledges he TRIED to initiate contact since he knew he was out to try and get the call.  New York messed this up.  Rocco is right this was just an embarrassment on a lot of levels.  They should have let the call stand like they have on 99.9 percent of these this year.

Was this stupid rule enacted after the SF catcher Posey's serious injury and collision with a runner years ago?  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

36 minutes ago, chpettit19 said:

Yes, this is the "Posey rule."

The thing about this play ... it looked NOTHING like what happened to Posey, though, which makes the whole thing just stupid. Merrifield admitted to sliding right at Sanchez, but ... he SLID, he didn't lower his shoulder and barrel right into Sanchez to intentionally take him out. There was no collision. And Merrifield also admits that there was plenty of room to slide to the side of Sanchez, but he knew he'd be out so he went for the slide AT Sanchez instead hoping for a different result. But again, he SLID. And Sanchez lifted up his knee so Merrifield could go under him. That's how it's supposed to look and go. I was a catcher in softball and made plays exactly like that. I just don't see how this even resembles what happened to Posey, at all, and how the Posey rule could even be applied. It's just so egregious in the worst possible way. And if Merrifield supports this overturned call, I think MMMordabito is right and should get booed, loudly. (And I'm not arguing against anything you said, I'm just wound up ... still ... about this overturned call.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member
16 hours ago, Richie the Rally Goat said:

I’d be pretty upset too, but it’s rather out of character for Rocco to get that heated.

I wonder how that plays in the clubhouse and office?

Considering how robotic he usually is, I love it.

 

I still remember one year when we were playing the White Sox in late September and the race was close. I think 2003? Gardy got ejected and punted is hat. IIRC we rallied to win that game and swept the series.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Verified Member

And what about Merrifield? This rule is to help avoid injuries from collisions and he admits to running into Sanchez on purpose despite having a lane to avoid the collision?!?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

The Twins Daily Caretaker Fund
The Twins Daily Caretaker Fund

You all care about this site. The next step is caring for it. We’re asking you to caretake this site so it can remain the premiere Twins community on the internet.

×
×
  • Create New...