• Create Account

With a disappointing series against a bottom three team in baseball, and an 11-19 record 30 games into the year, it's hard to not ask the question of "who's still going to be here" come August 1st. In an attempt to figure out who has value and who doesn't, and what type of team may take a stab at some Twins, I created a blog post ranking the Twins pieces by value.

How would you rank the Twins MLB players by trade value, and who do you think will realistically be moved barring a drastic turnaround?

Pineda and Happ from the starters

All of the Bullpen except Duffey and the players with less than 5 years service time

Sano

Simmions

Any other player on the roster that would make for a blockbuster trade. I don’t think any of the contending teams that would make that kind of trade have the prospects.  Would San Diego trade Justin Lange, Reggie Lawson and a couple high reward prospects for Berrios in a go for it move?

I really wonder if they can turn it around this season. Time is short. This team seems to have the same momentum and same energy they had in 2019, except in reverse. They seem so cavalier about their losses. Making the same mistakes, over and over again, and expecting different results. It’s crazy.

That said, assuming they don’t turn it around, I still don’t think they can trade anyone who is still on contract after 2021. That means Cruz, Simmons, and Pineda if he stays healthy, those three are trade candidates. Cruz should fetch a lot (American League team obviously). Maybe Robles as you mention in your blog. Some of the starting pitching prospects received in the 2018 sell-off should get a chance later this summer.

And then I’d sign Cruz back again for 2022.