Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
The same great Twins Daily coverage, now for the Vikings.

The Store

Recent Blogs


Photo

Zimmerman's "hit" off Wacha in the ninth

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 notoriousgod71

notoriousgod71

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,010 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 08:25 PM

How is that not an error? The throw pulled Adams off the bag and he would have been out. Even more ridiculously they then pull Wacha.

#2 Old Twins Cap

Old Twins Cap

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 09:07 PM

Nope. You are wrong. Any time a fielder has to exert above normal effort to make a play, does that, and the play is bang-bang, pulling the 1B off the bag is not considered an error. He tried a swipe tag and he didn't get him. Great call by both the umpire and the official scorer.

#3 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 7,469 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 10:12 PM

Yeah that was a hit... not a nice, clean, solid hit, but it was a hit. And, he was only in the game because of the no-hitter. He was their 1st round pick in 2012. They're going to take care of him!