Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.

The Store

Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

Photo

Zimmerman's "hit" off Wacha in the ninth

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 notoriousgod71

notoriousgod71

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 08:25 PM

How is that not an error? The throw pulled Adams off the bag and he would have been out. Even more ridiculously they then pull Wacha.

#2 Old Twins Cap

Old Twins Cap

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 09:07 PM

Nope. You are wrong. Any time a fielder has to exert above normal effort to make a play, does that, and the play is bang-bang, pulling the 1B off the bag is not considered an error. He tried a swipe tag and he didn't get him. Great call by both the umpire and the official scorer.

#3 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 8,148 posts

Posted 24 September 2013 - 10:12 PM

Yeah that was a hit... not a nice, clean, solid hit, but it was a hit. And, he was only in the game because of the no-hitter. He was their 1st round pick in 2012. They're going to take care of him!