I think it's a pretty fair and consistent standard though...if your error (i.e. a bad throw) results in a base gained, that's then ruled an error.
Once you hit the dirt to make a play... Standing up and throwing would be considered an extroidanary effort to continue on make the out.
If that's an error... It would have been best for Carroll personally to just hold the ball and don't try.
Errors shouldn't be used to discourage effort.
A Skeleton walks into a bar and says... "Give me a beer... And a mop".
President of the "Baseball Player Positional Flexibility" Club
Strike Zone Automation Advocate