It's not an agreement. The agreement is you can go over, with penalties. 23 teams were over last year. The agreement is you can go over if you want.
This is patently false, Mike. I'm assuming we're talking about the IFA allotment?
The CBA is a contractual agreement. If you read the old CBA contract carefully,you'll understand that teams agreed to not go over. That was the intent.
I understand that 23 teams elected to breach their agreement. But they did in fact originally agree to abide by a contractual agreement to adhere to the allotment system.
Apparently, your understanding was that there was no contract, and no agreement, just some arbitrary "rule" that said, "hey, go ahead and go over your allotment, but we're gonna charge you extra."
It's a moot point now, because they cleaned up the language and stiffened the penalties as a reminder to organizations that it ain't a pay for privilege thing, and breaching faith with the other teams is cheating.
Edited by birdwatcher, 14 July 2019 - 10:32 AM.