Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
Photo

Weather for the Home Opener

weather opener forecast march
  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 scottz

scottz

• Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 13 March 2019 - 09:33 AM

My degree is in meteorology and, while I never forecasted as a profession, I've always maintained an interest in forecasting. When I heard that the Twins home opener was March 28, I laughed and laughed as I thought about just how bad the weather could be. Of course, March weather can be quite nice, but I wouldn't bet on it.

Well, we are close enough now that the weather models are beginning to make their various declarations and I thought it would be fun to post them here, both to give us something to look forward to, and to keep a running diary of how things change over a two week period in the world of weather models.

Though I can't promise I'll remember to post every day (I'll be unavailable the last few days before the opener), I hope you enjoy it. I also hope that you appreciate the difficulty of predicting the weather. It is easy (and quite fun) to make fun of meteorologists and weather forecasts, but there is an awful lot of impressive work done in this field.

If any of you want to check out a couple of sites and snoop around, go for it!

https://www.tropical...nalysis/models/

https://weather.us/f...is/ensemble/usa

Hopefully the picture shows up/attaches and you can see that one model (GFS) shows a temperature around 45. Another (FV3) shows a temperature in the mid- to upper-30s. An ensemble of several different models show temperatures ranging from the lowest forecast of 35 and the highest/most optimistic model forecasting 65. The average of this ensemble is 49. All of these forecasts are for 1PM CDT on 3/28.

I won't get into precipitation just yet.

Enjoy?

(EDIT: Picture issue solved.)

Attached Thumbnails

• 2019-03-13.png

Edited by scottz, 13 March 2019 - 09:41 AM.