Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
The same great Twins Daily coverage, now for the Vikings.

The Store


Photo

Casilla's runner "interference"

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kydoty

kydoty

    First of His Name, King of the Andals and the First Men

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 22 September 2012 - 11:05 PM

Now, obviously there wouldn't be a benefit to protest this particular play, but let's assume that there was something to pl[FONT=arial][/FONT]ay for in this game. If you haven't seen it yet, Casilla got called out for runner's interference today, and the video is below.

http://mlb.mlb.com/v...780550&c_id=mlb

Gardy said after the game that the umpire told him that the base cannot protect the runner from being called out for interference. However, according to the rulebook, that isn't true at all:

Rule 7.08(B) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.

In this case, the umpire applied the rule incorrectly on two counts.

1. He said that the base cannot protect the runner from being called for interference, when the rules clearly say it can unless he felt Casilla was intentionally blocking Peralta's efforts to get the ball, in which...

2. If he actually thought that, then he should have called Casilla and the batter out and thus ending the inning. But he only called Casilla out and the inning continued.

In this case, a protest of a judgment call would be acceptable because the umpire got the rule wrong as stated in the rulebook. Like I said earlier though, it would be a waste of time.

"Mediocre breaking balls are a gift from God." - Kirby Puckett


#2 snepp

snepp

    Curve Hanger

  • Twins Mods
  • 4,238 posts
  • LocationSioux Falls

Posted 22 September 2012 - 11:09 PM

Yeah, that was pretty much bull**** all-around.

#3 SpantheMan

SpantheMan

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 120 posts

Posted 22 September 2012 - 11:42 PM

I don't see what He could of done. If you get off the bag he catches it and tags you.

#4 righty8383

righty8383

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 591 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:26 AM

I know the Twins are long out of contention, and I know this call had no real impact on the outcome of the game, but a call like this still bugs me. Total garbage...

#5 IdahoPilgrim

IdahoPilgrim

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,424 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:59 AM

My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.

#6 snepp

snepp

    Curve Hanger

  • Twins Mods
  • 4,238 posts
  • LocationSioux Falls

Posted 23 September 2012 - 11:04 AM

My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.


Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"

#7 IdahoPilgrim

IdahoPilgrim

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,424 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:35 PM

Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"


Apparently so.

#8 jokin

jokin

    Twins News Team

  • Twins News Team
  • 7,011 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 04:35 PM

My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.


Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"


The umpires beclowning of themselves continued as the Fox Sports nationally-"miked" home plate umpire continued screwing up the call in his between-inning interpretation and "explanation" of the call to Drew Butera.

This call should not be needed for "ongoing umpire instruction", even little leaguers could immediately figure out this was a royal screw-up and the entire crew should be held accountable in some manner. In a more consequential game this could have been a disaster for a team in contention for the playoffs.

FWIW, during the game today, Dick Bremer got a quote from an MLB umpire supervisor who said it was a screw-up and that it was a protestable call.

#9 gil4

gil4

    Irrational Optimist

  • Members
  • 624 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 07:24 PM

My general rule is when in doubt, play under protest. Just stop arguing and say "I think you got that rule wrong and w'd like to play under potest." Then go play and sort it out later.

If you're wrong, the protest is denied. If you win, the protest is ignored. If you lose and you're right, they fix the call and resume from that point.

In this game the Twins were down 8-0, so they might not have wanted to play the rest of that game twice.