Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

Recent Blogs

Photo

How not to field a ball as a catcher

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 ashburyjohn

ashburyjohn

    Haighters gonna Haight

  • Twins Mods
  • 19,394 posts
  • LocationNatick, MA

Posted 02 May 2018 - 05:30 PM

Here's an interesting video of a mistake made by the Red Sox catcher yesterday. The little grimace on his face when the umpire makes the call tells it all: "Oops. I knew that."

 

https://mediadownloa...asset_1800K.mp4

 

Very alert camera work, and kudos to the technical director in the booth for cutting to it, if this was what went to the broadcast. You don't get many of those in a year.

  • USAFChief, gunnarthor and Hosken Bombo Disco like this

If jail and prison are synonymous, why aren't jailer and prisoner?


#2 gunnarthor

gunnarthor

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 9,104 posts

Posted 03 May 2018 - 08:38 AM

Yeah, that's pretty rare. I saw something like that half a dozen years ago where (I think it was a Molina) used his mask to tug the ball back to him to try and throw out a base stealer. Until then, I didn't know a catcher couldn't do that.


#3 Oxtung

Oxtung

    If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence of tryin

  • Members
  • 1,979 posts

Posted 03 May 2018 - 04:35 PM

I didn't know they couldn't do that. Seems kind of dumb in this particular case. He didn't gain any kind of competitive advantage from it. Frankly I'm struggling to come up with a case where touching the ball with your equipment intentionally would  create a competitive advantage.

 

Maybe if you threw the mask in the air to knock down a foul ball and prevent it from landing in the stands, then proceeded to make the catch for an out. That seems pretty far fetched though. 

 

Does anyone know what the precedent here is? 


#4 Oldgoat_MN

Oldgoat_MN

    Any chance we'll extend a player? Anyone?

  • Members
  • 1,866 posts

Posted 03 May 2018 - 05:20 PM

So if a fielder were to catch a popup with his hat that would be illegal?

I suppose so, or players would do it from time to time.

As a former catcher, I'm surprised I was unaware of this rule.

Don't believe everything you read on the Internet just because it has a name or a photo you recognize.

- Abraham Lincoln


#5 David HK

David HK

    Minnesota Twins

  • Members
  • 2,854 posts
  • LocationHong Kong

Posted 03 May 2018 - 06:25 PM

Cool video.

 

I thought it was gonna be about Garver, though, for some reason.....

  • USAFChief, gil4 and nicksaviking like this

#6 David HK

David HK

    Minnesota Twins

  • Members
  • 2,854 posts
  • LocationHong Kong

Posted 03 May 2018 - 06:26 PM

 

I didn't know they couldn't do that. Seems kind of dumb in this particular case. He didn't gain any kind of competitive advantage from it. Frankly I'm struggling to come up with a case where touching the ball with your equipment intentionally would  create a competitive advantage.

 

Maybe if you threw the mask in the air to knock down a foul ball and prevent it from landing in the stands, then proceeded to make the catch for an out. That seems pretty far fetched though. 

 

Does anyone know what the precedent here is? 

Heh.... I hope catching one off the cup doesn't count.  

 

I used to play 3rd that way...


#7 nicksaviking

nicksaviking

    Billy G.O.A.T

  • Twins Mods
  • 12,482 posts

Posted 03 May 2018 - 07:10 PM

So if a fielder were to catch a popup with his hat that would be illegal?.


I heard Paul O'Niell was forced to do that in exchange for retrieving George Steinbrenner's birthday card once.
  • GCTF likes this

#8 gil4

gil4

    The irrational optimism is back!

  • Members
  • 1,735 posts
  • LocationOklahoma

Posted 03 May 2018 - 08:40 PM

 

So if a fielder were to catch a popup with his hat that would be illegal?

I suppose so, or players would do it from time to time.

As a former catcher, I'm surprised I was unaware of this rule.

This was used as a review in one of the umpiring forums I'm in. In NFHS rules, using detached equipment is two bases on a pitch or thrown ball, three bases on a batted ball.MLB rules are different - the 1-base award in the video was correct. I think on a batted batted ball it's two bases, but I'm not sure.   


#9 gunnarthor

gunnarthor

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 9,104 posts

Posted 04 May 2018 - 01:46 PM

 

I didn't know they couldn't do that. Seems kind of dumb in this particular case. He didn't gain any kind of competitive advantage from it. Frankly I'm struggling to come up with a case where touching the ball with your equipment intentionally would  create a competitive advantage.

 

Maybe if you threw the mask in the air to knock down a foul ball and prevent it from landing in the stands, then proceeded to make the catch for an out. That seems pretty far fetched though. 

 

Does anyone know what the precedent here is? 

Sure, in the play I saw, the ball was out of the range of Molina'a range but he used his mask to pull in back to him so he could try and make a play.

 

Not quite the same thing but this has video of Andrus throwing his glove at a ball above his head. Also against the rules.

 

https://www.mlb.com/...lly/c-138780530