Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.

The Store

Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

From MinnCentric

Photo

Twins sign RHP Leonel Zazueta

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 TwinsFanInPhilly

TwinsFanInPhilly

• Members
  • 133 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 08:49 AM

Here are the two "Scouting Reports" I could find on the kid. Anyone who is a better Googler than I can add content below

#2 righty8383

righty8383

• Members
  • 593 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 09:02 AM

The only article I could find on him was in Spanish. I gathered that he is from Mexico, 18 years old and has a 94-96 MPH fastball.

#3 MidwestMeat

MidwestMeat

• Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 09:26 AM

"He pitched two days ago with a high of 95".....um, is he a reliever by trade at this point or are they abusing him a bit?

Edited by MidwestMeat, 24 August 2012 - 09:30 AM.

#4 diehardtwinsfan

diehardtwinsfan

Twins Moderator

• Twins Mods
  • 5,061 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 11:03 AM

regardless, those are good numbers... at 18, he's still going to add a few ticks to that fastball as he ages... So 95 in relief now might be 98 by the time he reaches the bigs... or it might be 94/95 as a starter at that point. Not going to complain.

#5 Steve Penz

Steve Penz

• Members
  • 245 posts

Posted 24 August 2012 - 11:57 AM

Hablo espanol. The info seems limited. Like others have mentioned he is 18 and hits the mid to upper 90s. He was playing for school called Academia del Carmen in Monterrey which appears to be a baseball park/academy that is connected to a High School. He drew attention from the Yankees, Boston, Texas, and KC. i read that he will try to play for a team on Sonora called the Naranjeros in the meantime and then report to the Twins next winter where he most likely go the rookie league in FLA. I will reach out to a coworker about Academia del Carmen. With any luck it is Cretin Derhum Hall south campus.

#6 TwinsFanInPhilly