Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
Subscribe to Twins Daily Email
Photo

Let's talk about Castro....

• Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#1 DaveW

DaveW

Aaron Hicks update (5/17): .326 BA .464 OBP .616 SLG 1.080 OPS

• Members
  • 12,723 posts
  • LocationNYC aka Aaron Hicks Ville

Posted 18 September 2017 - 07:21 PM

This signing was lauded by a lot this off season, but at this point it looks like a disaster that we are going to be stuck with for another 2 years. My issue wasn't signing him, as much as it was giving him 3 years.

Not much of a hitter.
No arm.
Lots and lots of passed balls.

I'm no expert on pitch framing, but last I checked the Twins staff wasn't exactly leading the league in strike outs as well.

All of that is to say:

At this point you look to unload him in the offseason, right?

Go with Ramos even!
  • jud6312 likes this

Aaron Hicks 2017 stats so far (5/17/17): .326 BA .464 OBP .616 SLG 1.080 OPS  7 HR 19 RBI 6 SB 22 BBs 1.8WAR

#2 Hosken Bombo Disco

Hosken Bombo Disco

Minnesota Twins

• Members
  • 7,458 posts

Posted 18 September 2017 - 07:45 PM

Overrated. Teams run at will on him. Tonight he couldn't snap his throw and had to cock the arm to get velocity down to second, which takes too much time. His last throw out stealing second was last week, when the runner slid into the dirt a foot short and didn't even get to the bag.

It's a mere moment in a man's life between the All Star

Game and an old timer's game. - Vin Scully

#3 Obsvr

Obsvr

Cedar Rapids

• Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 18 September 2017 - 08:58 PM

MLB Network had a great profile on his pitch framing.  Was interesting to see how subtle it is.  That sai, he does leave a lot to be desired.  The passed balls are getting irritating.

• Thrylos, bizaff and DelusionalTwinsFan like this

#4 SwainZag

SwainZag

• Members
  • 1,795 posts
  • LocationMontana

Posted 18 September 2017 - 09:13 PM