Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.

Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

Photo

Debating WAR

• Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#1 DocBauer

DocBauer

• Members
  • 2,625 posts

Posted 16 August 2014 - 12:03 AM

I'd love to invite debate and explanation of WAR and it's impact and reality.

I'm no expert on advanced metrics, and I admit this freely.

I think they have their place...at least to some degree...especially in a sport that is long established/obsessed with statistics to quantify performance and success. Is there anything in baseball that isn't measured? Forget the obvious such as BA, OB, or power numbers, RBI's, or situational hitting for positional players, or ERA or SO to BB percentages...we now measure everything from BABIP % to road/home and day/night BA. Now we try to interpret the rule book for the strike zone...which is NOT followed...vs pitching performance vs umpire strike calling vs catchers framing an obscure and poorly interpreted strike zone for each umpire to create a measurable statistic.

(Shaking head)

I think we sometimes hear or read certain modern age statistics and just nod our heads without regarding the very nature of said statistics. WAR, for instance. Someone prints/says/claims a player is plus or minus WAR and we just go "ooh" or "ahh". Once in a while we might even exclaim, "ah-ha!"

I just read an article on another web site about Danny Santana. You know, the top 20/10 prospect, depending on who's prospect list you read, who is loaded with athletic talent and potential who needs to harness his ability on a consistent basis to amount to anything, but who has real potential. He's the speedy, talented SS with flashes of pop/power with range and good arm who began his first ever season at AAA to begin the 2014 season. Lack of OF/CF depth, brought about by some FO mismanagement, thrust him in to a mostly unfamiliar role of player CF AT THE ML LEVEL.