Minnesota Twins News & Rumors Forum

Thread: Murphy: The low down on Scott Diamond's recovery

Twitter
    @twinsgeek
    Liked 158 Times in 94 Posts
    Blog Entries

Murphy: The low down on Scott Diamond's recovery

Brian Murphy provides some specifics on how Scott Diamond is recovering and what he has left to do. He also hints at why this surgery didn't happen until December:

Unpleasant was the cracking sound he heard in his elbow lifting weights in December, which revealed bone chips and led to an operation that jeopardizes Diamond's chances to break camp with the Twins.
    Minnesota Twins: Anxious pitcher Scott Diamond 'in limbo' while elbow heals - TwinCities.com

Twins News Team All-Star PseudoSABR's Avatar
    Liked 183 Times in 106 Posts
    Did he get the weights he was lifting from the Twins medical staff? Hmm?

Senior Member Double-A
    Liked 25 Times in 16 Posts
    I am not a doctor but I googled bone chips and didn't find anything that showed that weight lifting would cause bone chips:

The chips usually result from a forceful injury to the elbow joint. It is also seen in the elbows of throwing athletesand gymnasts.
    Summit Medical Group - Bone Chips in the Elbow (Osteochondritis Dissecans)

Most likely the weight lifting exposed the fact the Twins medical staff missed the chips on the exit physical.

Senior Member All-Star 70charger's Avatar
    Liked 176 Times in 85 Posts
    I'm not a doctor, but I play one on TV.

Senior Member All-Star SpiritofVodkaDave's Avatar
    Liked 360 Times in 182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jharaldson View Post
    I am not a doctor but I googled bone chips and didn't find anything that showed that weight lifting would cause bone chips:

Summit Medical Group - Bone Chips in the Elbow (Osteochondritis Dissecans)

Most likely the weight lifting exposed the fact the Twins medical staff missed the chips on the exit physical.