Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Casilla's runner "interference"

  1. #1
    Senior Member Triple-A
    Posts
    211
    Like
    1
    Liked 42 Times in 14 Posts

    Casilla's runner "interference"

    Now, obviously there wouldn't be a benefit to protest this particular play, but let's assume that there was something to play for in this game. If you haven't seen it yet, Casilla got called out for runner's interference today, and the video is below.

    http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?co...80550&c_id=mlb

    Gardy said after the game that the umpire told him that the base cannot protect the runner from being called out for interference. However, according to the rulebook, that isn't true at all:

    Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.

    In this case, the umpire applied the rule incorrectly on two counts.

    1. He said that the base cannot protect the runner from being called for interference, when the rules clearly say it can unless he felt Casilla was intentionally blocking Peralta's efforts to get the ball, in which...

    2. If he actually thought that, then he should have called Casilla and the batter out and thus ending the inning. But he only called Casilla out and the inning continued.

    In this case, a protest of a judgment call would be acceptable because the umpire got the rule wrong as stated in the rulebook. Like I said earlier though, it would be a waste of time.

    "Mediocre breaking balls are a gift from God." - Kirby Puckett

  2. #2
    Speediest Moderator All-Star snepp's Avatar
    Posts
    3,608
    Like
    798
    Liked 589 Times in 225 Posts
    Yeah, that was pretty much bull**** all-around.
    "Maybe you could go grab a bat and ball… and learn something. Maybe you will get it."
    - Strib commenter educating the elitists on the value of RBI's

  3. #3
    Senior Member Double-A
    Posts
    120
    Like
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't see what He could of done. If you get off the bag he catches it and tags you.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Big-Leaguer righty8383's Avatar
    Posts
    556
    Like
    4
    Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    I know the Twins are long out of contention, and I know this call had no real impact on the outcome of the game, but a call like this still bugs me. Total garbage...

  5. #5
    Senior Member All-Star IdahoPilgrim's Avatar
    Posts
    2,421
    Like
    2
    Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.

  6. #6
    Speediest Moderator All-Star snepp's Avatar
    Posts
    3,608
    Like
    798
    Liked 589 Times in 225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbknudson View Post
    My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.
    Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"
    "Maybe you could go grab a bat and ball… and learn something. Maybe you will get it."
    - Strib commenter educating the elitists on the value of RBI's

  7. #7
    Senior Member All-Star IdahoPilgrim's Avatar
    Posts
    2,421
    Like
    2
    Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by snepp View Post
    Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"
    Apparently so.

  8. #8
    Senior Member MVP
    Posts
    5,097
    Like
    367
    Liked 324 Times in 214 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by snepp View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by sbknudson View Post
    My guess is that this call is used by MLB for ongoing umpire instruction. Even seasoned professionals need a refresher course periodically, particularly in situations like this that are so unusual.
    Three other umpires on the field, and not one of them could be bothered to say, "hey, you ****ed up, maybe we should fix this?"
    The umpires beclowning of themselves continued as the Fox Sports nationally-"miked" home plate umpire continued screwing up the call in his between-inning interpretation and "explanation" of the call to Drew Butera.

    This call should not be needed for "ongoing umpire instruction", even little leaguers could immediately figure out this was a royal screw-up and the entire crew should be held accountable in some manner. In a more consequential game this could have been a disaster for a team in contention for the playoffs.

    FWIW, during the game today, Dick Bremer got a quote from an MLB umpire supervisor who said it was a screw-up and that it was a protestable call.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Triple-A gil4's Avatar
    Posts
    450
    Like
    19
    Liked 52 Times in 29 Posts
    My general rule is when in doubt, play under protest. Just stop arguing and say "I think you got that rule wrong and w'd like to play under potest." Then go play and sort it out later.

    If you're wrong, the protest is denied. If you win, the protest is ignored. If you lose and you're right, they fix the call and resume from that point.

    In this game the Twins were down 8-0, so they might not have wanted to play the rest of that game twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
©2014 TwinsCentric, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Interested in advertising with Twins Daily? Click here.