Minnesota Twins News & Rumors Forum

Thread: Shawn Roof

Senior Member All-Star IdahoPilgrim's Avatar
    Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    Blog Entries

Shawn Roof

I'll admit I'm new to following the Twins minor-league prospects.

Can anybody fill me in on this Shawn Roof who played for New Britain today? This is the first time I've seen his name on a roster. Is he a new signing? From extended spring training?

Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Liked 369 Times in 195 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by sbknudson View Post
    I'll admit I'm new to following the Twins minor-league prospects.

Can anybody fill me in on this Shawn Roof who played for New Britain today? This is the first time I've seen his name on a roster. Is he a new signing? From extended spring training?
    New signing. With Dozier moving up to the Twins and Florimon moving up to Rochester, the Rock Cats are left with a middle infield of James Beresford (SS) and E. D. L. Santos (2B). That's fine, but Roof provides a backup, utility option. In his minor league career with the Tigers ('07-11), he played a lot of 2B, SS and 3B, and also some LF and RF. He was available.

If you check out tonight's Thursday Night Minor League Update, there is a little more. Not much of a hitter, no power, but solid backup option.

Senior Member All-Star Shane Wahl's Avatar
    Liked 122 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Meanwhile, Jairo Perez and Danny Santana hang out in Fort Myers.

Roof is old.

Again, I don't get it. I don't know of a way to access this information about minor league free agents, but there has GOT to be someone under 25 who they could sign to fill that role instead. Using more at bats on players with nothing to offer . . .

Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by shanewahl View Post
    Meanwhile, Jairo Perez and Danny Santana hang out in Fort Myers.

Roof is old.