Minnesota Twins News & Rumors Forum
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Firefox, Chrome, Explorer

  1. #1
    Senior Member All-Star JB_Iowa's Avatar
    Posts
    3,325
    Like
    1,303
    Liked 1,285 Times in 742 Posts

    Firefox, Chrome, Explorer

    I usually use Chrome but lately I've been getting a lot of "Unable to load page" messages when I pull it up (TD is my homepage in Chrome).

    But at the same time I'm getting the message in Chrome, I am able to load TD in Firefox. But also not loading in Explorer (IE11). (Chrome is Version 33.0.1750.154 m and says it is up-to-date).

    It's just kind of frustrating so I am curious why it is happening. And just happening with TD not other sites.

    Here's the longer message in Chrome:


    This webpage is not available


    Reload Less

    The server at www.twinsdaily.com can't be found, because the DNS lookup failed. DNS is the network service that translates a website's name to its Internet address. This error is most often caused by having no connection to the Internet or a misconfigured network. It can also be caused by an unresponsive DNS server or a firewall preventing Google Chrome from accessing the network.
    Error code: DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN



  2. #2
    Senior Member All-Star Boom Boom's Avatar
    Posts
    1,086
    Like
    10
    Liked 214 Times in 100 Posts
    Formatting is all screwed up in Firefox.

  3. #3
    Senior Member All-Star JB_Iowa's Avatar
    Posts
    3,325
    Like
    1,303
    Liked 1,285 Times in 742 Posts
    Well, I probably should have read the longer message better because it looks like it may be saying that the problem is with my router. But that still doesn't explain why I'm not having any trouble getting other sites on Chrome at the time I'm having trouble getting TD.

    This is on my laptop. And tends to happen most often in late morning (I think).

    FWIW, formatting looks fine in Firefox on my laptop. And also looks right on IE11.

  4. #4
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Boom Boom View Post
    Formatting is all screwed up in Firefox.
    You're going to have to be more specific than that.

  5. #5
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by JB_Iowa View Post
    Well, I probably should have read the longer message better because it looks like it may be saying that the problem is with my router. But that still doesn't explain why I'm not having any trouble getting other sites on Chrome at the time I'm having trouble getting TD.

    This is on my laptop. And tends to happen most often in late morning (I think).

    FWIW, formatting looks fine in Firefox on my laptop. And also looks right on IE11.
    Strange. I know the site has been suffering from temporary slowdowns lately due to traffic but I haven't seen any timeouts in the past few weeks.

    I use Chrome as my main browser.

    Anyone else seeing similar issues?

  6. #6
    Senior Member All-Star Boom Boom's Avatar
    Posts
    1,086
    Like
    10
    Liked 214 Times in 100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brock Beauchamp View Post
    You're going to have to be more specific than that.
    The link tabs at the top are displaying vertically instead of horizontally, and are behind the photo rotator.

  7. #7
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Boom Boom View Post
    The link tabs at the top are displaying vertically instead of horizontally, and are behind the photo rotator.
    What version of FF are you using?

    And have you refreshed using ctrl+f5?

  8. This user likes Brock Beauchamp's post and wants to buy him/her a steak dinner:

    Boom Boom (03-28-2014)

  9. #8
    I am by no means a computer expert but I had a similar problem recently with explorer and it was solved by going to windows tools and adding compatibility for the site I was having problems with.

  10. #9
    Senior Member All-Star Boom Boom's Avatar
    Posts
    1,086
    Like
    10
    Liked 214 Times in 100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brock Beauchamp View Post
    What version of FF are you using?

    And have you refreshed using ctrl+f5?
    I have now... and it's fixed. Thanks Brother.

  11. #10
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Since71 View Post
    I am by no means a computer expert but I had a similar problem recently with explorer and it was solved by going to windows tools and adding compatibility for the site I was having problems with.
    Yeah, Internet Explorer is a continual headache. Currently, the site *should* automatically force users into a compatibility mode but it may not work 100% of the time.

  12. This user likes Brock Beauchamp's post and wants to buy him/her a steak dinner:

    Since71 (03-28-2014)

  13. #11
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Boom Boom View Post
    I have now... and it's fixed. Thanks Brother.
    No worries. Unfortunately, I can't control a browser's local cache.

    Stupid browsers.

  14. #12
    Senior Member All-Star JB_Iowa's Avatar
    Posts
    3,325
    Like
    1,303
    Liked 1,285 Times in 742 Posts
    I'll try to keep track of when it happens to see if there is a pattern.

    At the time I had the problem with Chrome and IE this a.m., I could read and post using FF but it was slow.

    No big deal but the page not displayed was happening more often.


    Thanks for staying on top of all of this, Brock.

  15. #13
    Senior Member All-Star Sconnie's Avatar
    Posts
    1,101
    Like
    617
    Liked 397 Times in 262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    TD loads well in Safari, and is fast. I've had some bad luck with formatting in the text box while posting, but it's unusual.

  16. #14
    Senior Member Triple-A raindog's Avatar
    Posts
    298
    Like
    45
    Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brock Beauchamp View Post
    Yeah, Internet Explorer is a continual headache. Currently, the site *should* automatically force users into a compatibility mode but it may not work 100% of the time.
    But..why? IE 11 follows HTML 5 standards.

  17. #15
    Senior Member All-Star JB_Iowa's Avatar
    Posts
    3,325
    Like
    1,303
    Liked 1,285 Times in 742 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by raindog View Post
    But..why? IE 11 follows HTML 5 standards.
    It's better and mostly lays out the same (no more "allow blocked content") but the thing that bugs me the most is that IE11 still renders text significantly differently than Chrome and FF.
    Last edited by JB_Iowa; 03-28-2014 at 03:42 PM.

  18. #16
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by raindog View Post
    But..why? IE 11 follows HTML 5 standards.
    Not all of the standards. IE11 is better but still not particularly good. It still scores at or near the bottom in standards compliance.

    But mostly, problems are caused by speciality code written for previous versions of IE that were flat out broken and bad... The site is littered with special code for IE8-9 just to make it work.

    It's going to be a long time until Microsoft earns back any good will from developers for the decade of misery they've caused us as a whole. And they'll continue to draw developer ire as long as they continue the asinine policy of tethering browser version to operating system.

  19. #17
    Senior Member All-Star Thrylos's Avatar
    Posts
    4,175
    Twitter
    @thrylos98
    Like
    36
    Liked 446 Times in 273 Posts
    Blog Entries
    200
    I don't know about MS, exploder etc, but about half of the issues this site has with loading is due to the Flash ads. And I am on the latest version of FF (which is a memory pig, btw) and works really well when I go to the task manager and nuke flash. Willing to bet that the site will load 1000% faster if not for the flash ads, but I bet, you don't want to find out

    I suspect that the Chrome problems people are having are due to the known issues that the latest version of chrome browsers have with certain software firewalls like Norton or MS. Rebooting solves that.
    -----
    Blogging Twins since 2007 at The Tenth Inning Stretch
    http://tenthinningstretch.blogspot.com/
    twitter: @thrylos98

  20. #18
    I've been having this issue with Chrome only (kill pages, lockup, slow loading) the last few days and understand it is a problem with Chrome in general (and that they are working on it...yes, no, maybe). I have no problem with other browsers on the same computer.
    Joel Thingvall
    www.thingvall.com
    rosterman at www.twinscards.com

  21. #19
    Senior Member All-Star JB_Iowa's Avatar
    Posts
    3,325
    Like
    1,303
    Liked 1,285 Times in 742 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rosterman View Post
    I've been having this issue with Chrome only (kill pages, lockup, slow loading) the last few days and understand it is a problem with Chrome in general (and that they are working on it...yes, no, maybe). I have no problem with other browsers on the same computer.
    This makes sense to me. I use Chrome primarily for TD and some other sports sites. But after my first post on this, I tried a few searches. Results came up fine but I had trouble clicking into many of the sites.

    Thanks for mentioning that chrome was having problems. (And, sorry Brock and TD but I use Ad Blocking. I'm totally a demographic that your advertisers wouldn't want but I don't suppose they could know that so if they have ad blocking detection, I apologize but I do love not having to deal with the ads).

  22. #20
    Owner MVP Brock Beauchamp's Avatar
    Posts
    8,113
    Twitter
    @rocketpig76
    Like
    49
    Liked 1,589 Times in 826 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    I can't stop you from running ad blockers but don't expect me to help you troubleshoot a problem, either.

    It's only fair.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
©2014 TwinsCentric, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Interested in advertising with Twins Daily? Click here.