Casilla's runner "interference"
Now, obviously there wouldn't be a benefit to protest this particular play, but let's assume that there was something to play for in this game. If you haven't seen it yet, Casilla got called out for runner's interference today, and the video is below.
Gardy said after the game that the umpire told him that the base cannot protect the runner from being called out for interference. However, according to the rulebook, that isn't true at all:
Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.
In this case, the umpire applied the rule incorrectly on two counts.
1. He said that the base cannot protect the runner from being called for interference, when the rules clearly say it can unless he felt Casilla was intentionally blocking Peralta's efforts to get the ball, in which...
2. If he actually thought that, then he should have called Casilla and the batter out and thus ending the inning. But he only called Casilla out and the inning continued.
In this case, a protest of a judgment call would be acceptable because the umpire got the rule wrong as stated in the rulebook. Like I said earlier though, it would be a waste of time.