Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

The Store

Photo

Article: Twins Minor League Report (8/4): Licon Delivers Walk-Off Win for Kernels

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 07:10 PM

You can view the page at http://twinsdaily.co...Win-for-Kernels

#2 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 07:21 PM

Here's a terrific story from MetroSportsReport on the Jake Mauer ejection, what happened, etc. Kernels unbeaten when Mauer tossed

#3 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 07:23 PM

Jim Crikket posted the video of the Licon walk-off single and the celebration:

Knuckleballs ? Kernels Video: Joel Licon?s Walk-off Single Tops Quad Cities

#4 Chance

Chance

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 535 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 09:41 PM

Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us). :)

#5 Seth Stohs

Seth Stohs

    Owner

  • Administrators
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:23 PM

Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us). :)


Thank you! Corrected... and, thank you!

#6 Ncgo4

Ncgo4

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 226 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 05:11 AM

Was Jake correct about the rule? This could be a real embarrassment for the league to have a pair of umpires not know the rules. On the other hand Jake is just a coach :-)

#7 SD Buhr

SD Buhr

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 609 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:32 AM

Yes, Jake Mauer was correct about the rule. The umpire called Harrison out for batter's interference after Harrison swung through the ball and made contact with the catcher as the runner was stealing 2nd. If Harrison had left the batters box and interfered with the catcher's throw, the call would have been correct. However, when the batter swings through the pitch and hits the catcher with his bat, it's just a strike and the runner is sent back to his original base.

Ump blew the call.

#8 nicksaviking

nicksaviking

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 3,632 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:46 AM

Ouch, what an awful day for many of the prospects we are pinning the future on.

#9 TRex

TRex

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 308 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:47 AM

Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?

#10 SD Buhr

SD Buhr

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 609 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:07 AM

Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?


Sorry, I should have been more clear. Yes, it was after he swung through the pitch.

Covering the Cedar Rapids Kernels for
MetroSportsReport.comwhile my alter-ego, Jim Crikket, opines about the Twins and Kernels at Knuckleballsblog.com.

~You can get anything you want at Alice's Restaurant~

#11 rempson

rempson

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:13 AM

Jake was correct...here is the official rule: If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

#12 Willihammer

Willihammer

    ice cream correspondent

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts
  • LocationSaint Paul

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:32 AM

Will be interesting to see how these guys do against Appel on Tuesday