Minnesota Twins News & Rumors Forum
View RSS Feed

Off The Mark

Explaining That Goofy Play From Yesterday's Twins vs. Royals Game

Rate this Entry
The Scene

Alexi Casilla on 3B, Jamey Carroll on 2B. Denard Span hits a grounder to Eric Hosmer at first base. Hosmer fires home to Salvador Perez, who chases Casilla all the way back to 3B. However, Carroll also advances to 3B, while Span hustles around and makes it to 2B. Casilla, upon seeing the other two baserunners safe, deliberately runs past 3B. Perez gives up chasing Casilla as he's now out of the baseline, and he tags Carroll, hoping for a double play. However, after some hesitation, the umpires only calls Casilla out and allows Carroll to stay at 3B. The 4 umpires then have a conversation, and ultimately decide that they made the right call.

As it turns out, they were actually wrong.

Why?

For my explanation, I turn to a slew of rules:

7.01
A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base.

7.03(a)
Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.

7.03(b)
If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.

Why are these important?


7.01
This means that Casilla was entitled to 3B, while Carroll was entitled to 2B when the play began. Although Carroll ran to 3B and was standing on it before Casilla returned to the base, the second sentence of this rule does not apply, as Carroll was not forced to run to 3B (there was not a baserunner on 1B when the play started). This is why 3B remains Casilla's base throughout the entire play.

7.03(a)
Remember that Casilla was entitled to 3B. Thus, even though he was off the base and Carroll was standing on it, it was still technically Casilla's base. This rule states that if both runners were standing on 3B, then Carroll would be tagged out and Casilla would stay on 3B. Obviously, this is not what happened. Casilla ran past 3B while Carroll was standing on it, and Perez tagged Carroll before Casilla was called out for running out of the basepath. Since Carroll was the following runner and was tagged before Casilla was called out, this should have resulted in a double play. However, rule 7.03(a) does have an exception if 7.03(b) comes into play.

7.03(b)
But, this rule does not matter. This only applies if Casilla and Carroll were forced to advance, as in if the bases had been loaded or they had been on 1st and 2nd. Since they started on 2nd and 3rd, there was no runner on 1st and Span was the batter, neither runner was forced to advance. Yes, even when Span ran to 2nd base, because Span himself was not forced to advance.

Summary

This play should have resulted in a double play. Casilla was entitled to 3B, so even though Carroll occupied it, it was Casilla's base. Carroll was tagged before the umpire called Casilla out for running out of the baseline, and since Carroll was the following runner, Rule 7.03(a) states that Carroll should have been called out. Subsequently, Casilla would have been called out for running out of the baseline, thus how the double play should have been the correct call.

How did you know this?

This play has happened in the past. Also, a similar play was featured in the "What's The Call" feature of Sports Illustrated for Kids many, many years ago.
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. IdahoPilgrim's Avatar
    I believe you are correct about this, and was a little bit surprised they both weren't called out yesterday - I think that is clearly what the Kansas City manager was lobbying for.
  2. Linus's Avatar
    I wonder if the contact play was on? This should ensure that Lexi stays in Gardy's doghouse for another month.
  3. greengoblinrulz's Avatar
    watching the game, this is the way I percieved it also.
    Just another play where Casilla doesnt do the correct thing but goin to the base & just allowing himself to be tagged. Did a good job allowing Span to get to 2B, but then screws it up. Its alwasy something with him......he's actually played pretty well this yr if you discount the BAve (fielding been great).
  4. gil4's Avatar
    I didn't see that this was posted here too. I followed the link to the blog in the GameDay's Twins Blogosphere Guide, and there was some discussion there.

    The way I see it is this:

    Carroll was legally on the base (7.01). Casilla wasn't on the base, so 7.03 a and b don't apply. Casilla is out for going out of the baseline.
©2014 TwinsCentric, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Interested in advertising with Twins Daily? Click here.