PDA

View Full Version : Article: Twins Minor League Report (8/4): Licon Delivers Walk-Off Win for Kernels



Seth Stohs
08-04-2013, 08:10 PM
You can view the page at http://twinsdaily.com/content.php?r=2182-Twins-Minor-League-Report-(8-4)-Licon-Delivers-Walk-Off-Win-for-Kernels

Seth Stohs
08-04-2013, 08:21 PM
Here's a terrific story from MetroSportsReport on the Jake Mauer ejection, what happened, etc. Kernels unbeaten when Mauer tossed (http://metrosportsreport.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14354&catid=184#.Uf77JGi4bHI.twitter)

Seth Stohs
08-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Jim Crikket posted the video of the Licon walk-off single and the celebration:

Knuckleballs ? Kernels Video: Joel Licon?s Walk-off Single Tops Quad Cities (http://knuckleballsblog.com/2013/08/04/kernels-video-joel-licons-walk-off-single-tops-quad-cities/)

Chance
08-04-2013, 10:41 PM
Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us). :)

Seth Stohs
08-04-2013, 11:23 PM
Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us). :)

Thank you! Corrected... and, thank you!

Ncgo4
08-05-2013, 06:11 AM
Was Jake correct about the rule? This could be a real embarrassment for the league to have a pair of umpires not know the rules. On the other hand Jake is just a coach :-)

SD Buhr
08-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Yes, Jake Mauer was correct about the rule. The umpire called Harrison out for batter's interference after Harrison swung through the ball and made contact with the catcher as the runner was stealing 2nd. If Harrison had left the batters box and interfered with the catcher's throw, the call would have been correct. However, when the batter swings through the pitch and hits the catcher with his bat, it's just a strike and the runner is sent back to his original base.

Ump blew the call.

nicksaviking
08-05-2013, 08:46 AM
Ouch, what an awful day for many of the prospects we are pinning the future on.

TRex
08-05-2013, 08:47 AM
Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?

SD Buhr
08-05-2013, 09:07 AM
Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?

Sorry, I should have been more clear. Yes, it was after he swung through the pitch.

rempson
08-05-2013, 09:13 AM
Jake was correct...here is the official rule: If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

Willihammer
08-05-2013, 09:32 AM
Will be interesting to see how these guys do against Appel on Tuesday