Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Twins.
Subscribe to Twins Daily Email

The Forums

Yes...optomistic about the rotation

Minnesota Twins Talk Today, 01:04 AM
Maybe I shouldn't say this so loud. Maybe, with the "Jay to the bullpen" growing by leaps and bounds it's not the right time to say this....
Full topic ›

Is this racism or culture clash in baseball?

Other Baseball Today, 12:47 AM
Ian Kinsler proves people like this are not only ignorant, but slightly racistas well.   ~~~~~   Note from John Bonnes:  ...
Full topic ›

Article: Report From The Fort: Squeeze Play

Minnesota Twins Talk Today, 12:16 AM
Each spring training, teams reach a point when the supply/demand ratio regarding pitchers’ innings is reversed. That time has come.Early...
Full topic ›

Column: Does a Robbie Grossman Trade Make Sense?

Minnesota Twins Talk Yesterday, 11:20 PM
Wrote it up for Zone Coverage today.    https://t.co/mEbXltEt7O   Glad to chat about it here. Comments, questions, (friend...
Full topic ›

Article: Can Hector Santiago Elevate and Dominate?

Minnesota Twins Talk Yesterday, 09:57 PM
Hector Santiago is a fascinating pitcher in that he defies all the advanced metrics. Taking into account all the best ERA predictors, it...
Full topic ›

Minor Leagues


Tyler Jay Shifting To The Bullpen (Minor League Notebook)

Twins Daily has learned and confirmed that Tyler Jay has been moved to the bullpen going forward. A couple of sources have verified the change.

We will have much more on that, and several other minor league notes today.


Slegers Solidifies Status With Strong Spring Showing

Aaron Slegers found out on Monday morning that his spring training time with the big league Twins had come to an end, but he didn’t sulk. He enjoyed the experience and is looking forward to what could be and exciting 2017 season for him.

Slegers was the Twins fifth-round pick in 2013 out of Indiana after a season in which he was named the Big Ten’s Pitcher of the Year. He has moved up the organizational ladder exactly in the way you would expect. He finished 2013 in Elizabethton. He spent most of 2014 in Low Class-A Cedar Rapids. He spent most of 2015 in High Class-A Ft. Myers, ending the year with a handful of starts in Chattanooga.

That’s where he spent his 2016 season. In 25 starts, he went 10-7 with a 3.41 ERA. In 145.1 innings, he walked 2.8 per nine and struck out 6.4 batters per nine innings. At one point in the middle of the season, he had a stretch of nine straight Quality Starts.


Get To Know: Gophers OF Jordan Smith (And Gophers Notes)

This week, the Gophers are making a California swing before getting started with Big Ten play next weekend. They played a single game on Tuesday night at California-Berkeley, and last night they began a three-game series at Sacramento State. Find out more about those games and what’s coming up, but first, here is a Q&A with Gophers senior outfielder Jordan Smith.


Minor League Report From The Fort

The Twins had a scheduled off day on Tuesday so Hammond Stadium was very quiet. However, the back fields were busy. Practice began about 9:15 and went until around 11:30 when the players broke for lunch. At 1:00, there were two intrasquad games played. So there was a lot of action in the minor league ranks. Today I’ll be posting some of what I’ve seen and heard around the park.


Twins Send Six To Minor League Camp

On Monday morning, the Minnesota announced that four players were sent to minor league camp. Officially, Stephen Gonsalves and Aaron Slegers were reassigned to minor league camp. Mason Melotakis was optioned to AAA Rochester. Fernando Romero was optioned to AA Chattanooga.

Following the game, the team announced that lefty Randy Rosario and right-hander Felix Jorge had been optioned to Chattanooga.


Get To Know: Gophers OF Troy Traxler (And Gophers Notes)

The Gopher baseball team completed their 13-game, US Bank Stadium home stand on Sunday afternoon with a loss to Missouri State. In fact, the Gophers lost two of the three games this weekend. They will now play four games this coming week in California before starting Big Ten games the following week at Ohio State.

Today we get to know another Gophers senior contributor. Troy Traxler grew up in LaCrescent, Minnesota, a small town across the Mississippi River from LaCrosse, Wisconsin. He grew up a Twins fan, often going to games at Metrodome and Target Field. He won a state championship in high school, and has played in the Northwoods League.


Report From The Fort: Minor League Notebook

Twins Daily is the place to go for Twins minor league information. While I am down here, I am hoping to cover both the big league club and the minor league side of things. Nick did a great job today of covering the unfortunate Trevor May news and the Twins 13-0 win over a split Boston Red Sox club. I’m going to provide my first Minor League Report from the Fort tonight.

Please feel free to ask any questions you would like, and I will answer them as I am able. I also encourage you to ask questions that you would like me to dig into while I am here. I will try to answer (or get answered) as many as I can.

As a quick note, I’ll likely be doing some Live Twitter/Periscope broadcasting throughout the next week, so be sure to follow Seth and Twins Daily on Twitter. I’ll be taking a ton of photos too, so be sure to Like Twins Daily on Facebook.


Get To Know: Gophers RHP Toby Anderson (And Gophers Notes)

Following their solid showing in their Dairy Queen Classic, the Gophers have played a couple of upper-Midwest colleges the last couple of nights. They were able to add a couple more wins and have improved to 8-4 overall. They will play three more home games this coming weekend (against Missouri State) before heading on the road for a couple of weeks.


2017 Twins Minor League Storylines: Sixth-Year Guys

There are so many minor league stories to follow in 2017. Yesterday we talked about what could be a very intriguing starting staff in Chattanooga throughout the season. Today’s article is more about the business of baseball.

A player can become a minor league free agent after he has played six full seasons of minor league ball, unless added to the 40-man roster. So it is fair to say that this is a big year for a handful of Twins minor leaguers.


2017 Twins Minor League Storylines: The Lookouts Rotation

On Tuesday, the Twins held their first full-squad practice of the 2017 season. At Twins Daily, we put together a quick Minor League Primer, full of stories and notes for fans to know as their spring training begins. Today, I’m going to start posting some Minor League Storylines. Trust me. There are more than I’ll write about, and when I get to Ft. Myers, I’ll hopefully find some more. Today I want to write about one of the things that I know I’ll be watching intently throughout the 2017 season, the starting rotation at Chattanooga.


2017 Minnesota Twins Minor League Primer

On Tuesday morning, Minnesota Twins minor league spring training officially begins with the first full-squad workouts. Granted, a majority of the minor leaguers have taken advantage of the Twins academy and arrived anywhere from a week to a month ago. But on Tuesday just over 140 players will be working out on the back fields, not counting the six Twins minor leaguers participating in the World Baseball Classic.


Get To Know: Gophers RHP Tim Shannon (And Gophers Notes)

It’s a busy time of year for the Gophers baseball program. On Tuesday, they played NDSU. On Thursday, they played a game against Hawaii. Today, they completed the Dairy Queen Classic by playing Iowa after playing Oral Roberts on Friday and Hawaii on Saturday. The schedule doesn’t slow down as they will play South Dakota State on Tuesday night and Milwaukee on Wednesday night. Then they’ll play a three-game series against Missouri State. That will end their 13-game homestand at US Bank Stadium.